Garry Kasparov My Story Complete 1 - 5

Save 44%

Format: DVD
Sale price$49.95 Regular price$89.75
In stock


Kasparov My Story

Over 8 hours of Instruction! on one DVD

Includes the following DVDs:
  • DVD 1: Teenage Prodigy
  • DVD 2: Joining the Elite
  • DVD 3: Rebels and Renegades
  • DVD 4: Hitting the Wall
  • DVD 5: Rite of Passage

Presenter: GM Garry Kasparov & GM James Plaskett (running time: 104 mins)

By the age of 12 Garry was the Junior Champion of the mighty USSR, the youngest ever. Back then fashion bowed to the immaculate safety-first style of the reigning titan Anatoly Karpov. Along came young Kasparov, raging onto the scene and riding some new contraption called glasnost. His style - brash, energetic and aggressive took the chess world by storm and reinvented the standard for future generations of chess players.

Presenter: GM Garry Kasparov & GM James Plaskett (running time: 113 mins)

If one element characterized the games of teenage Garry Kasparov, it was the whirlwind aggression of his play. By 1981, though still a tender 18 years of age, his ferocious talent demanded that he clear ever-higher hurdles. Now it was time to take on the grown-ups, and for him this meant one thing - the world elite.

Presenter: GM Garry Kasparov & GM James Plaskett (running time: 86 mins)

A close look at Garry Kasparov's career reveals a remarkable amount of sheer brinkmanship. At a time when the Soviet Union was wired with paranoia and run by invisible connections, the winds of political change were beginning to stir and the brash renegade Kasparov would be in the right place at the right time to capitalize on the new climate.

Presenter: GM Garry Kasparov & GM James Plaskett (running time: 110 mins)

The shadows of political intrigue would threaten to do what no chess player could manage - to eliminate Garry from the hunt for the World Title. And when the long awaited confrontation between Karpov and Kasparov arrived, it turned out to be the most remarkable and controversial match ever played.

Presenter: GM Garry Kasparov & GM James Plaskett (running time: 89 mins)

On the eve of the most important game he would ever play, Garry Kasparov sought the advice of legends Botvinnik and Tal. If Kasparov succeeded, he would take Tal's place as the youngest World Champion in history. Was this another one of Garry's magic numbers?

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

You may also like

Recently viewed